Tanay History Tourist Spots, Festival

Tanay is a 1st class inland municipality of Rizal Province, Philippines.

Tanay Municipal Hall
Tanay Municipal Hall (Credit: Facebook Page)

Profile of Tanay Municipality (Geography)
Location –> 59.9 kilometers east of Manila (See map below)
Neighboring City and Towns –> Antipolo City (north), General Nakar in Quezon Province (east), Santa Maria in Laguna and Pililla (south), Baras and Teresa (west)
Area –> 200.00 km2 (77.22 sq mi)
Population –> 117,830 (2015 Census)
Terrain –> Mountainous with lowland near Laguna lake
Industries –> Agriculture, Trading, Tourism
Major Products –> Vegetables, rice, hogs, Poultry, Handicraft, Home-made Food Items
People/Language –> Tagalog, English
Barangays –> 20 (10 urban and 10 rural)
Revenue (2016) –> 312,045,746.77
Legislative District –> 2nd
Government Officials
Congressman –> Fidel Nograles
Mayor –> Rex Manuel Tanjuatco
Vice Mayor –> Rafael A. Tanjuatco

History of Tanay

Before the coming of the Spaniards, the lakeshore areas including the territory of what is now the town of Tanay were settled by indigenous people most probably that of Austronesian aborigines. Around 1583, the town of Pililla was organized and Tanay was one of its barrios.

On November 12, 1606, Tanay was formed as a pueblo (town) with the name “Monte de Tan-ay”. At that time, it was part of the province of Laguna but around 1857, Tanay along with Morong, Baras, Pililla, Angono, Binangonan and Jalajala became part of what was called Distrito Politico-Militar de Morong.

When the Americans created the province of Rizal on June 11, 1901, Tanay was one of its constituent municipality.

In 1903, the population of Tanay was 4,124 and increased to 8,627 in 1948. By the year 2000, it ballooned to 78,223 and to 117,830 in 2015.

Economy of Tanay

Although Tanay is fast catching up with urbanization, agriculture still plays an important role in the local economy. vegetables, rice, hogs, chicken and eggs are produced in large quantities.

Tourist Spots

Daranak Falls
Go here to see more photos of Daranak Falls.

Calinawan Cave and Rawang Pass

Masungi Georeserve

Daraitan River
Mount Batolusong
San Ildefonso de Toledo Parish Church

San Ildefonso de Toledo Church
San Ildefonso de Toledo Parish Church in Tanay, Rizal

Bernados Park
Estrada Estate
Resorts at Barangay Sampaloc
Rosario Rosarii Institute for Contemplation
Tanay Adventure Camp at Sitio Malaanonang
Old Municipal Building

Tanay Municipal Hall
Tanay Municipal Hall


Tanay Rodeo Festival
Ha Ne Festival

Map of Tanay Municipality

See also: Profile of Mayor Rex Manuel Tanjuatco, Governor Rebecca “Nini” Ynarez

Any comment?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.