Rizal Province History, Geography, Economy

Rizal Province History

Rizal Province History
Rizal Provincial Capitol (Credit: Patrickroque01 from wiki commons)

Profile of Rizal Province (Geography)
Location –> East of Metro Manila, Southern Tagalog Region, Philippines (See map below)
Neighboring Provinces –> Bulacan, Quezon, and Laguna
Capital –> Antipolo City
Area –> 1,191.94 km2 (460.21 sq mi)
Population –> 2,884,227 (2015 census)
Terrain –> Mountainous with rolling hills and river valleys
Industries –> Agriculture, Manufacturing
Major Products –> Rice, Manufactured Products, Poultry and Egg, Pork, Fish
People/Language –> Tagalog, Other ethnic groups from the provinces

City –> Antipolo City
Municipalities (Towns) –> (13)
First District: Angono, Binangonan, Cainta, and Taytay
Second District: Baras, Cardona, Jala Jala, Morong, Pililla, Tanay, Teresa
Third District: San Mateo
Fourth District: Rodriguez (Montalban)

Government Officials
Governor –> Rebecca “Nini” A. Ynares
Vice Governor –> Reynaldo H. San Juan, Jr.
Representative (1st District) –> Michael John “Jack” R. Duavit
Representative (2nd District) –> Fidel Nograles
Predecessor –> Isidro S. Rodriguez, Jr.
Provincial Board Members (Sangguniang Panlalawigan or SP Members)
Anthony Jesus A. Alarcon – 1st District
Genato H. Bernardo
Ross Glenn T. Gongora
Fernando R. Cabitac, Jr.
Atty. Rolando P. Rivera – 2nd District
Rommel C. Ayuson
Atty. Emigdio P. Tanjuatco III
Bartolome N. Rivera, Jr.
Roberto Andres “Randy” R. Puno Jr. – Antipolo 1st District
Alexander S. Marquez – Antipolo 2nd District
Dindo M. Abueg – President, Provincial League of Councilors
Ruel P. Estrella – President, Provincial League of Barangay Captains
Adolfo Gallanosa – Representative of Indigenous People

Rizal Province History

During the Spanish era, the area now occupied by Rizal Province belonged to Tondo Province and later to La Laguna. In 1853, the towns of Morong, Pililla, Tanay, Baras, Binangonan, Jalajala, Angono, Antipolo, Boso-Boso, Cainta, and Taytay were separated from Tondo and became the Distrito Politico-Militar de los Montes de San Mateo and four years after, it was renamed Distrito de Morong.

On June 11, 1901, the province of Rizal was created by virtue of Act No. 137 by the First Philippine Commission with Pasig as the first capital. It covered the municipalities that formerly belonged to Tondo and Morong provinces.

On November 7, 1975, then President Ferdinand Marcos issued Presidential Decree No. 824 creating Metro Manila as a special administrative region. Twelve former towns of Rizal province including Pasig constituted this new region and thereby leaving only 14 towns for Rizal Province. Pasig remained as the capital of Rizal Province until 2009 when it was officially transferred to Antipolo City.

Go here to see all the famous people from Rizal Province.

Go here to see all the candidates and results of the 2019 election in Rizal Province.

Read the history of Rizal Province in Tagalog here.

Economy of Rizal Province

Although agriculture still plays an important role in the economy of some municipalities, major of the people are now engaged in tertiary industries such as trading and other services. The province is home to many manufacturing plants especially in Cainta, Taytay and Rodriquez (Montalban) towns. People living near Laguna de Bay, largest lake in the country, depend on fishing for their livelihood.

2016-2019 – Most Competitive Province (given by 4th, 5th, 6th and 7th Regional Competitiveness Summit)

RELATED: Profile of Isabela Province
See also: List of Philippine Provinces and Capital by Region

Rizal Province Map

Any comment?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.