Quezon Province History, Geography, Economy

Quezon Province History

Quezon Province History
Quezon Provincial Capitol (Photo Credit: wiki commons)

Profile of Quezon Province (Geography)
Location –> Southern Tagalog Region also known as CaLaBaRZon, Philippines (See map below)
Neighboring Provinces –> Aurora, Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Batangas, Laguna, Rizal, and Bulacan
Capital –> Lucena City
Area –> 8,989.39 km2 (3,470.82 sq mi)
Population –> 2,118,830 including Lucena City
Terrain –> Mountainous, Rolling hills with coastal plains
Industries –> Agriculture, Manufacturing, Power Generation
Major Products –> Coconut, Rice, Vegetables, Fish, Electricity
People/Language –> Tagalog, Bicolano

Cities –> Lucena, Tayabas
Municipalities (Towns) –> Agdangan, Alabat, Atimonan, Buenavista, Burdeos, Calauag, Candelaria, Catanauan, Dolores, Gen. Luna, General Nakar, Guinayangan, Gumaca, Infanta, Jomalig, Lopez, Lucban, Macalelon, Mauban, Mulanay, Padre Burgos, Pagbilao, Panukulan, Patnanungan, Perez, Pitogo, Plaridel, Polillo, Quezon, Real, Sampaloc, San Andres, San Antonio, San Francisco, San Narciso, Sariaya, Tagkawayan, Tiaong, Unisan

Government Officials
Governor –> Angelina “Helen” DL. Tan
Predecessor –> Danilo Suarez
Vice Governor –> Anacleto A. Alcala III
Predecessor –> Samuel B. Nantes
Representative (1st District) –> Mark Enverga
Predecessor –> Anna Katrina Enverga-de la Paz
Representative (2nd District) –> David Jay Jay Suarez
Predecessor –> Vicente J. Alcala
Representative (3rd District) –> Reynante Arrogancia
Aleta Suarez
Predecessor –> Danilo E. Suarez
Representative (4th District) –> Keith Micah Tan
Provincial Board Members (Sangguniang Panlalawigan or SP) (2022-2025)
First District
Claro M. Talaga Jr.
Julius Jay Luces
Second District
Vinnette Alcala-Naca
Maria Yllana Liwanag-Asistio
Ferdinand N. Talabong
Third District
Donaldo C. Suarez
John Joseph Aquivido
Fourth District
Isaias Ubana II
Harold Butardo
Roderick Magbuhos
Provincial Board Members (Sangguniang Panlalawigan or SP) (2019-2022)
Alona Obispo – 1st District
Claro Talaga Jr.
Elizabeth Sio – 2nd District
Romano Franco Talaga
Maria Yllana Liwanag-Asistio
Reynante Arrogancia – 3rd District
Donaldo Suarez
Rhodora Tan – 4th District
Isaias Ubana II
Roderick Magbuhos
Ireneo Boongaling – President, PLB
Angelo Eduarte – President, Provincial Councilors’ League or PCL
Irish H. Armando – President, Sangguniang Kabataan Federation

Quezon Province History

The area where Quezon Province is located now was called Kalilayan when it was established as an administrative district by the Spaniards in 1591. The town of Unisan was chosen as the seat of the government. Later, Kalilayan was renamed Tayabas. Areas under the jurisdiction of Tayabas included the now province of Aurora and the eastern part of Nueva Ecija. During the American Period, the island of Marinduque was annexed to Tayabas Province.

On September 7, 1946, Tayabas was renamed Quezon Province in honor of Manuel Luis Quezon, the first president of the Commonwealth Period and the second president of the Philippines.

Go here to see all the famous people from Quezon Province.

Go here to see all the candidates and results of the 2019 election in Quezon Province.

Read the History of Quezon Province in Tagalog here.

Economy of Quezon Province

Outside the capital city of Lucena, agriculture is the main economic activity in the province where coconut and rice are the main outputs. The province has one of the longest coasts among the 81 province and therefore, fishing is a very important industry.

Aside from coconut oil and rice mills, there are no other large manufacturing plants in the province. A large coal-fired power plant is operating in Pagbilao town near Lucena City. Tourism is not as developed as in the other provinces in Calabarzon Region.

RELATED: Profile of Isabela Province
See also: List of Philippine Provinces and Capital by Region

Quezon Province Map

Any comment?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.