Suphan Buri Province: Districts, Tourist Spots

Suphan Buri Province (สุพรรณบุรี) is one of the provinces in the central region of Thailand. The neighboring provinces are Uthai Thani and Chainat (north), Sing Buri, Ang Thong, and Ayutthaya (east), Nakhon Pathom (south), and Kanchanaburi (west). (See map below.) The name of the province was given by King Khun Luang Pha Ngua of the Ayutthaya Kingdom.

Located 103 kilometers northwest of Bangkok, Suphan Buri Province has a total area of 5,358 km2 (40th among the 77 provinces) and an estimated population of more than 849,000 (18th) in 2015. Topography is mostly low river plains, with small mountain ranges in the north and west of the province. The southeastern part with the very low plain of the Tha Chin River is a paddy rice farming area. The province is well-known for its bamboo and rattan basketry.

Suphan Buri Province is composed of 10 districts namely:
1. Mueang Suphanburi
2. Doem Bang Nang Buat
3. Dan Chang
4. Bang Pla Ma
5. Si Prachan
6. Don Chedi
7. Song Phi Nong
8. Sam Chuk
9. U Thong
10. Nong Ya Sai

Famous People from Suphan Buri:
1. Prince U Thong – Founder of Ayutthaya Kingdom
2. Banharn Silpa-archa – former Prime Minister

What to see and do in Suphan Buri:
1. Phu Toei National Park
2. Bueng Chawak Chalermphrakiat Lake and Zoo
3. Wat Pa Lelai Worawihan
4. Sam Chuk Market

Related: Phuket Province; Yasothon Province; Udon Thani Province

Any comment?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.