Chiang Mai Province Thailand

Chiang Mai Province is one of the provinces in the northern region of Thailand. It is bounded on the north by Myanmar. On the east lies the provinces of Chiang Rai, Lamphun and Lampang. On the south is Tak Province while on the west is Mae Hong Son. Chiang Mai was the center of the Lanna Kingdom that existed before the area was overrun by the Kingdom of Ayutthaya in 1599.

Located 685 km north of Bangkok, Chiang Mai Province has an area of 20,107 km2, making it the second largest province in the country after Nakhon Ratchasima. In 2015, the population of the province was estimated at more than 1.7 million. Topography is mountainous except for the valley where the city (meuang) is located. The highest mountain, Mt. Inthanon, is found at the southwest part of the province. Mae Ping River that passes through the center of the province flows southward connecting to the Chao Phraya River.

Chiang Mai Province is composed of 25 districts, namely:
1. Mueang Chiang Mai
2. Chom Thong
3. Mae Chaem
4. Chiang Dao
5. Doi Saket
6. Mae Taeng
7. Mae Rim
8. Samoeng
9. Fang
10. Mae Ai
11. Phrao
12. San Pa Tong
13. San Kamphaeng
14. San Sai
15. Hang Dong
16. Hot
17. Doi Tao
18. Omkoi
19. Saraphi
20. Wiang Haeng
21. Chai Prakan
22. Mae Wang
23. Mae On
24. Doi Lo
25. Galyani Vadhana

Famous people from Chiang Mai:
1. Thaksin Shinatwatra – Prime Minister
2. Yingluck Shinatwatra – Prime Minister
3. Mark Prin – famous actor.
4. Bas Suradet Piniwat – actor

What to see and do:
1. Doi Inthanon National Park
2. Mae Ya Waterfall
3. Warorot Market in downtown Chiang Mai
4. Chiang Dao Wildlife Sanctuary
5. Wat Umong with its grand stupa and scenic ponds
6. Wat Phra Singh
7. Wat Chedi Luang
8. Royal Park Rajapruek
9. Elephant Nature Park
10. Lanna Folklife Museum

See also: Other provinces of Thailand

Any comment?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.