Cotabato Province History, Geography, Economy

Cotabato is a province in Region 12, Philippines. It is strategically located at the center of Mindanao Island.

Cotabato Province History
Cotabato Provincial Capitol (Photo Credit:

Profile of Cotabato Province (Geography)
Location –> Southern Mindanao (SoCCSKSarGen) Region, Philippines (See map below)
Neighboring Provinces –> Bukidnon, Davao Del Sur, Sultan Kudarat, Maguindanao, and Lanao Del Sur
Capital –> Kidapawan City
Area –> 9,008.90 km2 (3,478.36 sq mi)
Population –> 1,379,747 (2015 census)
Terrain –> Mountainous on the northern side and lowland on the southern side
Industries –> Agriculture, Manufacturing
Major Products –> Rice, Corn, Sugarcane, Banana, Rubber, Durian, Coconut
People/Language –> Bisaya (Cebuano), Maguindanao, Manobo, T’boli, Ilianen, Ilocano
Governor –> Nancy Catamco
Predecessor –> Emmylou J. Taliño-Mendoza
Vice Governor –> Emmylou J. Taliño-Mendoza
Predecessor –> Shirlyn “Neneng” Macasarte-Villanueva
Representative (1st District) –> Joselito Sacdalan
Predecessor –> Jesus N. Sacdalan
Representative (2nd District) –> Rudy Caoagdan
Predecessor –> Nancy A. Catamco
Representative (3rd District) –> Jose I. Tejada

Provincial Board Members / Sangguniang Panglalawigan (SP)
1st District
Shirlyn Macasarte
Mohammad Antao
Roland Jungco
Rosalie Cabaya
2nd District
Ma. Krista Piñol
Philbert Malaluan
Onofre Respicio
3rd District
Ivy Dalumpines
Jonathan Tabara
Joemar Cerebo
ABC – Dulia Sultan
PCL – Alberto Rivera
SK – Sarah Simblante

City –> Kidapawan City
Municipalities (Towns) –> (17) Alamada, Aleosan, Antipas, Arakan, Banisilan, Carmen, Kabacan, Libungan, Magpet, Makilala, Matalam, Midsayap, M’lang, Pigkawayan, Pikit, Pres. Roxas, and Tulunan

Cotabato Province History

Cotabato Province traces its root to the Empire Province of Cotabato that existed from 1914 until its dissolution in 1973. The Empire Province of Cotabato was in turn a former district of the defunct Moro Province.

On November 22, 1973, the old Cotabato was divided into the provinces of North Cotabato, Maguindanao, and Sultan Kudarat through Presidential Decree No. 341 issued by then President Ferdinand Marcos. North Cotabato was renamed Cotabato in 1984.

Go here to see all the famous people from Cotabato Province.

Go here to see the candidates and results of the 2019 election in Cotabato province.

Read the history of Cotabato Province here.

Economy of Cotabato Province

Cotabato has one of the most productive soils in the country. The province is a major producer of rice, corn, sugarcane, rubber, banana, and livestock. Freshwater fish is caught from the rivers and marshlands. Manufacturing consists of many rice mills and the sugar mill in Matalam. Tourism is still undeveloped in the province.

RELATED: Profile of Bohol Province
See also: List of Philippine Provinces and Capital by Region

Map of Province


    • Thank you very much for your comment. I agree we learn a lot about the geography of a place.

Any comment?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.