Maguindanao History, Geography, Economy

Maguindanao History

Maguindanao History
Maguindanao Provincial Capitol (Photo Credit: Facebook Page)

Profile of Maguindanao Province (Geography)
Location –> Central Mindanao (Autonomous Region of Muslim Mindanao Region), Philippines (See map below)
Neighboring Provinces –> Lanao Del Sur, Cotabato, and Sultan Kudarat
Capital –> Buluan
Area –> 4,871.60 km2 (1,880.94 sq mi)
Population –> 1,173,933 (2015 census)
Terrain –> Flat land and marsh land with some mountains on the southwestern section of the province
Industries –> Agriculture
Major Products –> Rice, corn, banana, coconut
People/Language –> Maguindanao
Governor –> Bai Mariam Mangudadatu
Predecessor –> Esmael Mangudadatu
Vice Governor –> Lester Sinsuat
Representative (1st District) –> Datu Roonie Sinsuat Sr.
Predecessor –> Bai Sandra A. Sema
Representative (2nd District) –> Esmael Mangudadatu
Predecessor –> Datu Zajid G. Mangudadatu
Senior Board Member (First District) –> Sharifudin Tucao Mastura
Senior Board Member (Second District) –> King Jhazzer Mangudadatu
City –> Cotabato
Municipalities (Towns) –> (36) Ampatuan, Barira, Buldon, Buluan, Datu Abdullah Sangki, Datu Anggal Midtimbang, Datu Blah Sinsuat, Datu Hofer, Datu Montawal, Datu Odin Sinsuat, Datu Paglas, Datu Piang, Datu Salibu, Datu Saudi Ampatuan, Datu Unsay, Gen. Pendatun, Guindulungan, Kabuntalan, Mamasapano, Mangudadatu, Matanog, Northern Kabuntalan, Pagagawan, Pagalungan, Paglat, Pandag, Parang, Rajah Buayan, Shariff Aguak, South Upi, Sultan Kudarat, Sultan Mastura, Sultan Sa Barongis, Talayan, Talitay, and Upi

Maguindanao History

Maguindanao was formerly part of the huge and undivided Cotabato province. On November 22, 1973, the old Cotabato was split into the provinces of North Cotabato, Maguindanao, and Sultan Kudarat through through Presidential Decree No. 341 issued by then President Ferdinand Marcos. The new province of Maguindanao first gained separate representation in the Batasang Pambansa (National Legislture) in 1984 with the election of Simeon A. Datumanong and Salipada K. Pendatun as Mambabatas Pambansa (MP).

On October 31, 2006, the people of Maguindanao voted to divide their own province into two, Maguindanao and Shariff Kabunsuan by virtue of Muslim Mindanao Autonomy Act No. 201 passed by the ARMM Regional Legislative Assembly. However, the Supreme Court of the Philippines decided that the law was unconstitutional for only the Philippine Congress has the power to create a province.

Maguindanao has a history of violence. In 2000, the province experienced intense fighting between the Philippine Military and the Moro Islamic Liberation Front (MILF) culminating in the capture of Camp Abubakar located in the vicinity of Barira municipality. On November 23, 2009, fifty-seven people were killed, including governatorial candidate ESmael Mangudadatu’s wife and sisters, supporters, local journalists, and bystanders in the so-called Maguindanao massacre. On January 25, 2015, 44 members of the Special Action Force were killed in what is now termed as “Mamasapano Clash” between members of the Bangsamoro Islamic Freedom Fighters and Special Action Force (SAF) of the Philippine National Police (PNP).

Read the history of Maguindanao in Tagalog here.

Economy of Maguindanao Province

The people of Maguindanao depend largely on agriculture for their livelihood. Farming rice and corn in addition to the raising of chicken are the main economic activities in the province.

RELATED: Profile of Bohol Province
See also: List of Philippine Provinces and Capital by Region

Map of Province

Any comment?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.