Davao Del Sur History, Geography, Economy

Davao Del Sur History

Davao Del Sur History
Davao Del Sur Provincial Capitol (Photo Credit: davaodelsur.gov.ph)

Profile of Davao Del Sur (Geography)
Location –> Davao Region, Philippines (See map below)
Neighboring Provinces –> Davao Del Norte, Davao Occidental, Sarangani, South Cotabato, and Cotabato
Capital –> Digos City
Area –> 4,607.59 km2 including Davao City
Population –> 2,265,579 including Davao City (2015 census)
Terrain –> Coastal plain with some hills
Main Industry –> Agriculture
Major Products –> Rice, Corn, fish
People/Language –> Bisaya (Cebuano)
Governor –> Douglas R.A. Cagas
Vice Governor –> Marc Douglas Cagas IV
Predecessor –> Aileen Almendras
Representative (Lone District) –> Mercedes “Didi” C. Cagas

Cities –> Davao, Digos
Municipalities (Towns) –> (8) Hagonoy, Kiblawan, Magsaysay, Malalag, Matanao, Padala, Santa Cruz, Sulop

Davao Del Sur History

On May 8, 1967, Davao was divided into three provinces: Del Norte, Del Sur and Oriental through Republic Act No. 4867. On July 23, 2013, five municipalities in the southern part Davao Del Sur were separated to create the province of Davao Occidental by virtue of Republic Act 10360.

Go here to see the candidates and results of the 2019 election results.

Economy of Davao Del Sur Province

Outside of Davao City, Davao Del Sur is primarily an agricultural province where rice, corn, coconut, and fish are the main products.

RELATED: Profile of Bohol Province
See also: List of Philippine Provinces and Capital by Region

Map of Province

Any comment?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.