Samar Province Profile: History, Geography, Economy, Officials

Samar is a province of the Philippines in the Eastern Visayas Region or Region 9. It was previously called Western Samar.

Profile of Samar (Western) Province (Geography)
Location –> Eastern Visayas Region, Philippines (See map below)
Neighboring Provinces –> Northern Samar, Eastern Samar, Leyte
Capital –> Catbalogan City
Area –> 6,048.03 km2 (2,335.16 sq mi)
Population –> 780,481 (2015 census)
Terrain –> Mountainous and hilly with narrow coastal plains
Industries –> Agriculture
Major Products –> Rice, Coconut, Fish, Corn, Abaca, Banana
People/Language –> Waray
Cities –> (2) Calbayog City, Catbalogan City
Municipalities (Towns) –> (24) Almagro, Basey, Calbiga, Daram, Gandara, Hinabangan, Jiabong, Marabut, Matuguinao, Motiong, Pagsanghan, Paranas, Pinabacdao, San Jorge, San Jose de Buan, San Sebastian, Santa Margarita, Santa Rita, Santo Nino, Tagapul-an, Talalora, Tarangnan, Villareal, Zumarraga

Government Officials
Governor –> Reynolds Michael Tan
Predecessor – Milagrosa Tan
Former Governor –> Sharee Ann Tan
Vice Governor –> Angelica Gomez Teodoro
Predecessor –> Reynolds Michael Tan
Former Vice Governor –> Stephen James Tan
Representative (1st District) –> Edgar Mary Sarmiento
Representative (2nd District) –> Sharee Ann Tan-de los Santos
Predecessor –> Milagrosa Tan

Samar province History (Western Samar History)

The earliest human settlements in Samar Province is believed to be more than 10,000 years ago as shown by stone tools found in the Sohoton Caves in Basey Municipality.
During the early part of Spanish rule in the country, Samar was under the jurisdiction of Cebu. In 1735, the politico-military district of Samar-Leyte was formed. Twelve years later, Samar and Leyte were split into two distinct provinces.

When the First Philippine Legislature was established in 1907, Samar Province sent Honorio Rosales and Luciano Sinko as its representatives to represent the first and second districts respectively.

In 1965, the island province of Samar was split into three separate provinces namely: Northern, Eastern, and Western Samar by virtue of Republic Act No. 4221. In that same year, Fernando R. Veloso was elected as the first representative of the independent Western Samar to the Philippine Congess. Four years later, Western Samar was renamed Samar under Republic Act No. 5650.

Go here to see all the famous people from Samar Province.

Go here to see the candidates and results of the 2019 election in Samar Province

Read the history of Samar Province in Tagalog here.

Economy of Samar Province

The economy of Samar is chiefly agricultural where most of the people are engaged either in farming or fishing or both. Rice, fish, coconut, and abaca are the main products. Mat weaving is an important cottage industry. Tourism is still undeveloped although the province is gifted with many natural attractions.

RELATED: Profile of Bohol Province
See also: List of Philippine Provinces and Capital by Region

Map of Province

Any comment?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.