Leyte History, Geography, Economy

Leyte is a premier province in Eastern Visayas Region of the Philippines.

Leyte Province
Leyte Provincial Capitol (Photo Credit: wiki commons)

Profile of Leyte Province (Geography)
Location –> Eastern Visayas Region, Philippines (See map below)
Neighboring Province –> Biliran, Samar, Southern Leyte
Capital –> Tacloban City
Area –> 6,313.33 km2 (2,437.59 sq mi)
Population –> 1,966,728 (2015 census including Tacloban City)
Terrain –> Mountainous, Lowland, Coastal Plains
Industries –> Agriculture, Manufacturing, Geothermal Energy Production
Major Products –> Rice, Sugarcane, Sweet Potato, Corn, Coconut, Fertilizer, Refined Copper, Softdrinks
People/Language –> Bisaya, Waray
Budget (2020) –> 9.5 Billion Pesos
Cities –> Tacloban City, Ormoc City, Baybay City
Municipalities (Towns) –> (40) Abuyog, Alangalang, Albuera, Babatngon, Barugo, Bato, Burauen, Calubian, Capoocan, Carigara, Dagami, Dulag, Hilongos, Hindang, Inopacan, Isabel, Jaro, Javier, Julita, Kananga, La Paz, Leyte, Macarthur, Mahaplag, Matag-ob, Matalom, Mayorga, Merida, Palo, Palompon, Pastrana, San Isidro, San Miguel, Santa Fe, Tabango, Tabontabon, Tanauan, Tolosa, Tunga, Villaba

Government Officials
Governor –> Leopoldo Dominico Petilla
Vice Governor –> Carlo Loreto
Representative (1st District) –> Ferdinand Martin Romualdez
Predecessor –> Yedda Romualdez
Representative (2nd District) –> Karen Lolita Javier
Predecessor –> Henry Ong
Representative (3rd District) –> Vicente “Ching” Veloso III
Representative (4th District) –> Lucy Torres Gomez
Representative (5th District) –> Carl Nicolas Cellona Cari
Predecessor –> Jose Carlos “Boying” L. Cari
Provincial Board Members (Sangguniang Panlalawigan or SP)
Gina Merilo – 1st District
Ranulfo Abellanosa
Trinidad Apostol – 2nd District
Raissa Villasin
Anna Veloso Tuazon – 3rd District
Maria Corazon Remandaban
Maria Carmen Jean Torres Rama – 4th District
Mesias Arevalo
Florante Cayunda Jr. – 5th District
Emmanuel Gacis
Nolie CaƱa – President, Association of Barangay Captains (ABC – Leyte)
Jo Vanille Chua – President, Provincial Sangguniang Kabataan or SK Federation

Leyte History

Leyte was formerly under the jurisdiction of Samar Province but in 1768, Leyte and Samar were split into two distinct provinces. On May 22, 1959, several towns in the southern part of the province were separated to comprise a new province called Southern Leyte by virtue of Republic Act No. 2227.

The province of Leyte was the scene of an amphibious invasion by American forces under the command of General Douglas MacArthur. The landing marked the beginning of an intense campaign to liberate the Philippines from the Japanese during World War II.

On November 8, 2013, Typhoon Haiyan made a landfall on the eastern shores of Leyte, causing so much destruction of properties and thousands of deaths especially in Tacloban City.

Go here to see all the famous people from Leyte Province.

Go here to see the candidates and results of the 2019 election in Leyte Province.

Read the history of Leyte Province here.

Former Governors
Jaime de Veyra

Economy of Leyte Province

Agriculture is the main source of income in the province of Leyte. Rice, coconut, corn, sugarcane and fish are the chief products. The town of Isabel is home to an industrial estate where fertilizer, sulfuric acid and refined copper are produced. Other large manufacturing plants in the province are sugar milling and softdrink bottling. The province also host a geothermal plant that supplies electricity not only to Leyte Province but also to Cebu, Samar, and Southern Leyte.

Cottage industries include food processing like fish drying and bakery, furniture, and weaving of mats. Tourism is being given priority by government for development.

RELATED: Profile of Cebu Province
See also: List of Philippine Provinces and Capital by Region

Any comment?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.