Northern Samar History, Geography, Economy

Northern Samar is a province in the Eastern Visayas Region of the Philippines.

Northern Samar History
Northern Samar Provincial Capitol (Photo Credit: Facebook Page

Profile of Northern Samar (Geography)
Location –> Eastern Visayas Region, Philippines (See map below)
Neighboring Provinces –> Eastern Samar, Samar, and Sorsogon across the San Bernardino Strait
Capital –> Catarman
Area –> 3,692.93 km2 (1,425.85 sq mi)
Population –> 632,379 (2015 census)
Terrain –> Mountainous and hilly with narrow coastal plains
Industries –> Agriculture
Major Products –> Rice, Coconut, Abaca, Fish
People/Language –> Waray, Bicolano
Cities –> None
Municipalities (Towns) –> (24)
First District –> Allen, Biri, Bobon, Capul, Catarman, Lavezares, Lope de Vega, Mondragon, Rosario, San Antonio, San Isidro, San Jose, San Vicente, and Victoria
Second District –> Catubig, Gamay, Laoang, Lapinig, Las Navas, Mapanas, Palapag, Pambujan, San Roque, and Silvino Lobos

Government Officials
Governor –> Edwin Marino Ongchuan
Predecessor –> Jose L. Ong, Jr.
Vice Governor –> Gary M. Lavin
Representative (1st District) –> Paul R. Daza
Representative (2nd District) –> Jose Ong Jr.
Predecessor –> Edwin S. Ongchuan
Provincial Board Members (Sangguniang Panlalawigan or SP)
Neil “Nonoy” Hernandez – 1st District
Christian Emmanuel Uy
Hazel “Chin” Dela Rosa
Pascacio Joshua Maria Vicario
Golda Ballesta
Florencio Batula – 2nd District
Maria Ana Avalon
Tess Gillamac
Gina Silvano
Albert Lucero

Northern Samar History

Before the coming of the Spaniards, the “Lakanate of Lawan” was a thriving settlement in Northern Samar. Its chieftain named Lakan Iberein was known to possessed gold properties in great quantities such that even his oarsmen were “collared” in gold. This was described by historian William Henry Scott in his book, Cracks in the parchment curtain and other essays in Philippine history published by New Day Publishers.

During the Spanish rule in the Philippines, the town of Palapag was one of the trading ports of the Galleon Trade between Mexico and Manila.

Northern Samar was established as a regular province on June 19, 1965 after the ratification of Republic Act 4221, the law that separated the island of Samar into three distinct provinces.

Eladio T. Balite was elected in 1965 as the first representative of the independent Northern Samar to the Philippine Congress.

Go here to see all the famous people of Northern Samar Province.

Go here to see the candidates and results of the 2019 election in Northern Samar.

Read the history of Northern Samar Province in Tagalog here.

Economy of Northern Samar

Agriculture is the main economic activity of the people in Northern Samar where rice, coconut, fish, and abaca are the chief products. Tourism is being developed as an alternative source of livelihood for the residence.

RELATED: Profile of Bohol Province
See also: List of Philippine Provinces and Capital by Region

Map of Province

Any comment?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.