Compostela Valley History, Geography, Economy

Compostela Valley History

Compostela Valley History
Compostela Valley Provincial Capitol (Photo Credit: Facebook Page)

Profile of Compostela Province (Geography)
Location –> Davao Region, Philippines (See map below)
Neighboring Provinces –> Agusan Del Sur, Davao Oriental, and Davao Del Norte
Capital –> Nabunturan
Area –> 4,479.77 km2 (1,729.65 sq mi)
Population –> 736,107 (2105 census)
Terrain –> Mountainous with broad valleys and narrow coastal plains
Industries –> Agriculture, Mining
Major Products –> Rice, Corn, Coconut, Banana. Cacao, Coffee
People/Language –> Bisaya (Cebuano), Mansaka, Mandaya, Ata Manobo, Dibabawnon
Governor –> Jayvee Tyron L. Uy
Vice Governor –> Maria Carmen Zamora
Predecessor –> Manuel “Way Kurat” Zamora
Representative (1st District) –> Manuel “Way Kurat” Zamora
Predecessor –> Ma. Carmen S. Zamora-Apsay
Representative (2nd District) –> Arturo Uy
Predecessor –> Ruwel Peter S. Gonzaga
Cities –> None
Municipalities (Towns) –> (11) Compostela, Laak, Mabini, Maco, Maragusan, Mawab, Monkayo, Montevista, Nabunturan, New Bataan, Pantukan

Compostela Valley History

Compostela Valley was formerly part of Davao del Norte Province. On March 8, 1998, it became a separate province by virtue of Republic Act No. 8470 which was signed by President Fidel V. Ramos on January 30, 1998. Atty. Jose R. Caballero was the first elected governor of the province.

Go here to see all the famous people from the province of Compostela Valley.

Go here to see the candidates and results of the 2019 election in Compostela Valley.

Economy Of Compostela Valley

Compostela Valley is a province rich in natural resources. Its soil is good for the production of almost any crop or fruit and vegetable. It helps that the province does not lie on the pathway of typhoons that wreck havoc on the other provinces. Today, Compostela Valley is one of the biggest producers of rice, corn, banana, coconut, coffee, cacao, and cutflowers.

Compostela Valley is also one of the most mineralized provinces of the country. In fact, the province has a history of gold mining especially at Mt. Diwalwal which has seen a gold rush of small scale miners. Aside from gold, the mines in the province produces copper, silver, and other minerals. The province should intensify its program to develop the jewelry industry in order to take advantage of the availability of these minerals and to provide more employment opportunities to the residents.

Tourism in the province is slowly gaining ground with more visitors taking notice of its beaches and other natural attractions.

RELATED: Profile of Bohol Province
See also: List of Philippine Provinces and Capital by Region

Map of Province

Any comment?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.