Agusan Del Sur History, Geography, Economy

Agusan Del Sur History

Agusan Del Sur Welcome Sign
Agusan Del Sur Welcome Sign (Photo Credit: Facebook Page)

Profile Agusan Del Sur Province (Geography)
Location –> Caraga Region in northeastern Mindanao, Philippines (See map below)
Neighboring Provinces –> Agusan Del Norte, Surigao Del Sur, Davao De Oro (Formerly Compostela valley), Davao Del Norte, and Bukidnon
Capital –> Prosperidad
Area –> 9,989.52 km2 (3,856.98 sq mi)
* Agusan Del Sur is the 4th biggest province in the Philippines in terms of land area.
Population –> 700,653 (2015 census)
Terrain –> Mountainous on the southeastern and western part with broad lowland and marshland on the central part of the province.
Industries –> Agriculture
Major Products –> Rice, Corn, coconut, and rubber
People/Language –> Bisaya (Cebuano), Surigaonon, Butuanon, Higaonon
City –> Bayugan (included in the first district)
Municipalities (Towns) –> (13)
1st District: Esperanza, Prosperidad, San Luis, Sibagat, and Talacogon
2nd District: Bunawan, La Paz, Loreto, Rosario, San Francisco, Santa Josefa, Trento, and Veruela

Government Officials
Go here to see the elected provincial officials of Agusan Del Sur.

Agusan Del Sur History
Agusan del Sur Provincial Capitol (Photo Credit: Wiki Commons)

Agusan Del Sur History

Long before the coming of the Spaniards, the area covered by the present Agusan del Sur was inhabited by various tribes such as the Manobos, Mamanwas and Higaonons. They were pushed to the mountains when migrants from the Visayas region, together with the coming of the Spanish colonizers, settled in the valley.

The province was part of the huge district of Surigao during the Spanish regime. When the Americans came, Agusan was separated from Surigao. On June 17, 1967, Agusan Del Sur came into being after the enactment of Republic Act No. 4969 providing for the division of the province of Agusan into two. Rufino C. Otero was elected as the first Provincial Governor and Democrito O. Plaza the first Congressman in the election of November, 1969

On October 20, 2008, the province was divided into two legislative districts. The first district is composed of the city of Bayugan and the municipalities of Esperanza, Prosperidad, San Luis, Sibagat, and Talacogon. On the other hand, the second district covers the municipalities of Bunawan, La Paz, Loreto, Rosario, San Francisco, Santa Josefa, Trento, and Veruela.

Go here to see all the famous people from Agusan Del Sur Province.

Go here to see the candidates and results of the 2019 election in Agusan Del Sur.

Read the history of Agusan Del Sur in Tagalog here.

Economy of Agusan Del Sur Province

Agusan del Sur is primarily an agricultural province where rice, corn, coconut, banana and rubber are the chief products. Manufacturing is limited to small and family-owned shops where furniture, tricycle, bread and pastries, and handicraft items are produced. The tourism industry is still in its infancy.

RELATED: Profile of Bohol Province
See also: List of Philippine Provinces and Capital by Region

Map of Province

One comment

Any comment?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.