Davao Oriental History, Geography, Economy

Davao Oriental History

Davao Oriental History
Davao Oriental Provincial Capitol (Photo Credit: mapio.net)

Profile of Davao Oriental Province (Geography)
Location –> Davao Region, Philippines (See map below)
Neighboring Provinces –> Surigao Del Sur, Compostela Valley
Capital –> Mati City
Area –> 5,679.64 km2 (2,192.92 sq mi)
Population –> 558,958 (2015 census)
Terrain –> Mountainous with narrow coastal plains
Industries –> Agriculture
Major Products –> Rice, Corn, Abaca, Fruits, Seaweeds, Fish
People/Language –> Bisaya (Cebuano), Davawenyo, Mandaya, Mansaka, Kalagan, Kamayo
Governor –> Nelson Dayanghirang
Vice Governor –> NiƱo Uy
Representative (1st District) –> Corazon N. Malanyaon
Representative (2nd District) –> Joel Mayo Z. Almario
City –> Mati
Municipalities (Towns) –> (10) Baganga, Banaybanay, Boston, Caraga, Cateel, Gov. Generoso, lupon, Manay, San Isidro, and Tarragona

Davao Oriental History

Davao Oriental was created as a province on July 1, 1967 with the enactment of Republic Act No. 4867, the law that divided the huge Davao Province into three independent provinces: Davao Oriental, Davao Del Norte, and Davao Del Sur.

Go here to see the candidates and results of the 2019 election in Davao Oriental.

Economy of Davao Oriental Province

Davao Oriental is primarily an agricultural province where rice, corn, abaca, fruits, fish and seaweeds are the chief products.

RELATED: Profile of Bohol Province
See also: List of Philippine Provinces and Capital by Region

Map of Province

Any comment?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.