Abra Province History, Geography, Economy

Abra Province History

Abra Province History
Abra Provincial Capitol (Credit: Raani Paranas)

Profile of Abra Province (Geography)
Location –> Cordillera Region in Northern Luzon, Philippines (See map below)
Neighboring Provinces –> Ilocos Norte, Apayao, Kalinga, Mountain Province, and Ilocos Sur
Capital –> Bangued
Area –> 4,165.25 km2 (1,608.21 sq mi)
Population –> 241,160 (2015 Census)
Terrain –> Mountainous with narrow river valleys
Industries –> Agriculture and Cottage Industries
Major Products –> Rice, Corn, Livestock
People/Language –> Tinggian, Itnegs, Ilocano
Municipalities (Towns) –> (27) Bangued, Boliney, Bucay, Bucloc, Daguioman, Danglas, Dolores, La Paz, Lacub, Lagangilang, Lagayan, Langiden, Licuanbaay, Luba, Malibcong, Manabo, Penarrubia, Pidigan, Pilar, Sallapadan, San Isidro, San Juan, San Quintin, Tayum, Tineg, Tubo, Villaviciosa

Government Officials
Governor –> Dominic “Nic” Valera
Vice Governor –> Maria Jocelyn Valera-Bernos
Representative (Lone District) –> Menchie Bernos

Abra Province History

Abra was created as a province in 1846 out of the eastern territories of the two Ilocos provinces. It was re-annexed to Ilocos Sur during the early years of the American occupation of the Philippines. In 1917, Abra regained its status as a separate province. In 1987, the province joined the newly-formed Cordillera Region.

List of Former Governors (Partial)
2016-2022 – Ma. Jocelyn Valera-Bernos
2007-2016 – Eustaquio P. Bersamin
2001-2007 – Vicente Valera
1998-2001 – Maria Zita Claustro-Valera
1986-1998 – Vicente Valera
1984-1986 – Andres Ma. Brillantes Bernos
1977-1984 – Arturo V. Barbero
1971–1977 – Gabino V. Balbin
1965–1971 – Petronilo V. Seares

Go here to all the candidates in Abra for 2019 Election and its results.

The province of Abra was first represented in the Fifth Philippine Assembly which opened in 1919 with Eustaquio Purugganan as its first representative. He was succeeded by Adolfo Brillantes in 1922.

Post-war provincial government saw the appointed of Quintín Paredes as Abra’s representative in the re-opened Philippine Congress. He was succeeded by duly elected Congressman Virgilio Valera in 1949.

Abra has a grim history of political killings. Today, the contending families in the province’s politics are the Valera-Bernos, Luna, and Bersamin Clans.

Go here to see all the famous people from Abra Province.

Read the history of Abra in Tagalog here.

Economy of Abra Province

RELATED: Profile of Ifugao Province
See also: List of Philippine Provinces and Capital by Region

Map of Abra Province

Any comment?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.