Mountain Province (Philippines) History, Geography, Economy

Mountain Province (Cordillera, Philippines) History

Mountain Province History
Mountain Provincial Capitol Before Demolition (Credit:

Profile (Geography)
Location –> Cordillera Region in Northern Luzon Island, Philippines (See map below)
Neighboring Provinces –> Kalinga, Isabela, Ifugao, Benguet, Abra
Capital –> Bontoc
Area –> 2,157.38 km2 (832.97 sq mi)
Population –> 154,590 (2015 census)
Terrain –> Mountainous
Industries –> Agriculture, Cottage Industries
Major Products –> Rice, Vegetables, Root Crops
People/Language –> Bontoc, Kankana-ey, Ilocano, Tagalog
Governor –> Bonifacio Lacwasan
Predecessor –> Kathy Jyll Mayaen-Luis
Vice Governor –> Francis Tauli
Predecessor –> Bonifacio Lacwasan
Representative (Lone District) –> Maximo Dalog Jr.
Predecessor –> Maximo Dalog Sr. (died in 2017)

Municipalities (Towns) –> (10) Barlig, Bauko, Besao, Bontoc, Natonin, Paracelis, Sabangan, Sadanga, Sagada, Tadian

Mountain Province History

Act No. 1876 was enacted by the Philippine Commission on August 19, 1908 creating a big province called Mountain Province to cover the whole mountainous region of central northern Luzon. Samuel Cane was appointed first governor and the town of Bontoc was made the capital.

On April 7, 1967, the old Mountain Province was abolished by virtue of Republic Act No. 4695. The sub-provinces were converted into 4 independent provinces: Benguet, Ifugao, Kalinga-Apayao and Mountain Province (corresponding to the former Bontoc sub-province).

After Mountain Province became independent, Alfredo G. Lamen was elected in 1969 as the representative of the province in the 7th Congress.

During the Presidency of Ferdinand Marcos, the province was part of Region I or the Ilocos Region. However, On July 15, 1987, President Corazon Aquino signed Executive Order No. 220 creating the Cordillera Autonomous Region with Mountain Province together with Abra, Benguet, Ifugao and Kalinga Apayao as the component provinces.

Go here to see all the famous people from Mountain Province.

Go here to see all the candidates and results of the 2019 election in Mountain Province.

Read the history of Mountain Province in Tagalog here.

Economy of Mountain Province

The economy of Mountain Province is based on agriculture where rice, corn, vegetables and root crops are produced for domestic consumption. The government is promoting the production of high-value products such as coffee and oranges to augment the income of the farmers.

The eastern corridor near the province of Isabela has sloping terrain and can be developed as the new economic hub of the province.

The province is endowed with many natural and man-made wonders and tourists coming from all over the world are increasing in numbers. The town of Sagada is the most visited due to its many attractions.

Go here to see all the tourist spots of Mountain Province.

RELATED: Profile of La Union Province, Nueva Vizcaya

See also: List of Philippine Provinces and Capital by Region

One comment

Any comment?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.