Songkhla Province: Profile, Tourist Spots, Districts

Songkhla Province is one of the provinces in the southern region of Thailand. It is bounded on the north by Nakhon Si Thammarat, on the east by the Gulf of Thailand and the province of Pattani, on the south by Yala and Malaysia, and on the west by Satun and Phatthalung. Hat Yai is the largest city but not its capital.

Songkhla Province has a long history. It used to be the center of an old Malay Kingdom that is part of the Srivijayan Empire. Later, it became the Sultanate of Singgora from where it is believe is the origin of its current name. Excavations near the Songkhla Lake revealed an extensive urban area that had trading relations with China. When the Anglo-Siamese Treaty was signed in 1909, Songkhla came firmly under Siam’s control.

Located 969 kilometers south of Bangkok, Songkhla has a total land area of 7,393.9 km2 and an estimated population of more than 1.4 million in 2015. Topography consists of wide coastal plains and valleys with mountains in the south. Songkhla Lake, the largest natural lake in Thailand, is located in the northern part of the province.

Songkla is subdivided into districts, namely:
1. Mueang Songkhla
2. Sathing Phra
3. Chana
4. Na Thawi
5. Thepha
6. Saba Yoi
7. Ranot
8. Krasae Sin
9. Rattaphum
10. Sadao
11. Hat Yai
12. Na Mom
13. Khuan Niang
14. Bang Klam
15. Singhanakhon
16. Khlong Hoi Khong

What to see and do in Songkla Province
1. Hat Yai Park
2. Hat Yai Floating Market
3. San Kala Khiri National Park
4. Khao Nam Khang National Park
5. Samila Beach
6. Koh Nu (Mouse Island)
7. Koh Maew (Cat island)
8. Ton Nga Chang wildlife sanctuary
9. Tinsulanonda Bridge
10. Songkhla National Museum

RELATED: Phuket Province; Krabi Province; Singburi Province

External Link: Tourism in Thailand

Any comment?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.