Milagrosa Tan Biography

Milagrosa Tan was a Filipino politician. She served as the first woman governor and congresswoman of Samar Province in Eastern Visayas Region. In the May 13, 2019 election, she ran under the administration-backed PDP-Laban Party and won over Emilio Soza of Lakas Party.

Personal Information
Complete Name –> Milagrosa Tee Tan
Died –> December 1, 2019 of cardiac arrest at St. Luke’s Hospital in Bonifacio Global City, Taguig
Birth Place –> Samar, Philippines

Sons –
1. Reynalds Michael Tan, Current Governor
2. Jimboy Stephenson Tan (Defeated congressional candidate in the May 13, 2019 election)
1. Sharee Ann Tan-de los Santos, former governor and current congresswoman of the second district
2. Angelie Tan, mayoralty candidate for Calbayog City in 2013

Work Experiences
2001-2010, 2019-Present – Governor
2010-2019 – Congresswoman, Samar 2nd District

Scandals and Controversies
In March, 2019, Milagrosa Tan was convicted of graft and sentenced up to 115 years in prison over the anomalous purchase of emergency supplies for victims of Typhoon Kidang worth P16.1 million when she was governor in 2001. Her conviction was affirmed in July, 2019. Penalty includes perpetual disqualification from holding public office.

RELATED: List of Governors of Philippine Provinces 2019 – 2022

See also: Top Government Officials under President Duterte

See also: Profiles of Philippine Provinces and Tourist Spots

Any comment?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.