Negros Occidental History, Geography, Economy

Negros Occidental History

Negros Occidental History
Negros Occidental Provincial Capitol (Photo Credit: Facebook Page)

Profile of Negros Occidental Province (Geography)
Location –> Negros Island, Western Visayas Region, Philippines (See map below)
Neighboring Provinces –> Negros Oriental and Guimaras across the Guimaras Strait
Capital –> Bacolod City
Area –> 7,802.54 km2 (3,012.58 sq mi)
Population –> 2,497,261 (2015 census)
Terrain –> Flat on the northwestern part, Mountainous on the northeastern side, Plateaus and rolling hills with narrow coastal plains on the southern area
Industries –> Agriculture, Sugar Milling, Tourism
Major Products –> Sugar, Rice, and fish
People/Language –> Ilonggo, Bisaya, Tagalog, English

Cities –> (13) Bacolod, Bago, Cadiz City, Escalante, Himamaylan,
Kabankalan, La Carlota, Sagay City, San Carlos, Silay, Sipalay, Talisay, Victorias
Municipalities (Towns) –> (20) Binalbagan, Calatrava, Candoni, Cauayan, Enrique Magalona, Hinigaran, Hinoba-an, Ilog, Isabela, La Castellana, Manapla, Moises Padilla, Murcia, Pontevedra, Pulupandan, San Enrique, Toboso, Valladolid, and Salvador Benedicto

Government Officials
Governor –> Eugenio Jose Lacson
Predecessor –> Alfredo MaraƱon
Vice Governor –> Jeffrey Ferrer
Predecessor –> Eugenio Jose Lacson
Representative (1st District) –> Gerardo Valmayor Jr.
Predecessor –> Yap, Melecio Jr. J.
Representative (2nd District) –> Leo Rafael M. Cueva
Representative (3rd District) –> Jose Francisco Benitez
Predecessor –> Alfredo Benitez
Representative (4th District) –> Juliet Marie D. Ferrer
Representative (5th District) –> Ma. Lourdes Arroyo
Predecessor –> Mirasol, Alejandro Y.
Representative (6th District) –> Genaro Alvarez Jr.
Predecessor –> Alvarez, Mercedes K.
Provincial Board Members (Sangguniang Panlalawigan or SP)
Rommel Debulgado – 1st District
Araceli Somosa
Samson Mirhan – 2nd District
Sixto Guanzon
Manuel Frederick Ko – 3rd District
Andrew Montelibano
Jose Benito Alonso – 4th District
Victor Javellana
Agustin Ernesto Bascon – 5th District
Rita Gatuslao
Valentin Miguel Alonso – 6th District
Jeffrey Tubola

Negros Occidental History

In April of 1565, the Spaniards arrived in Negros Island and saw black people whom they called Negritos. From then on, the island was called Negros. The towns of Binalbagan and Ilog were the first to be founded. At first, the island was under the jurisdiction of Oton (Iloilo) but in 1734, the island was separated and became a military-political district with Ilog as the capital. Then the capital was moved to Himamaylan and in 1849, the capital was transferred to Bacolod.

On January 1, 1890, the island was divided into oriental and occidental provinces. The Americans established a civil government on April 20, 1901.

Go here to see all the famous people from Negros Occidental Province.

Go here to see the candidates and results of the 2019 election in Negros occidental.

Read the history of Negros Occidental in Tagalog here.

Economy of Negros Occidental

Negros Occidental is considered the “Sugarbowl of the Philippines”. It is the home of several sugar refining centers although some have closed down due to low prices and lack of investment in new machineries resulting to high cost of production. The city of Bacolod has seen great transformation recently with many Manila-based companies investing in big shopping malls and high-rise buildings. Technology companies especially call centers have given employment opportunities to local residents.

RELATED: Profile of Palawan Province
See also: List of Philippine Provinces and Capital by Region

Any comment?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.