Quirino Province History, Geography, Economy

Quirino Province is one of the provinces of Region 2 in the Philippines.

Quirino Province
Quirino Provincial Capitol (Credit: Judgefloro, Wiki Commons)

Profile of Quirino Province (Geography)
Location –> Cagayan Valley Region in northeastern Luzon, Philippines (See map below)
Neighboring Provinces –> Isabela, Aurora, Nueva Ecija, and Nueva Vizcaya
Capital –> Cabarroguis
Area –> 2,323.47 km2 (897.10 sq mi)
Population –> 188,991 (2015 census)
Topography –> Mountainous, Rolling hills, and Broad valleys
Industries –> Agriculture, light manufacturing such as Furniture and Dried flower production
Major Products –> Rice, Corn, Vegetables, Mango, Banana, Coconut
People/Language –> Ilocano, Ifugao, Gaddang, Kankana-ey, Bungkalot
Government Officials
Go here to see the elected provincial officials of Quirino.

Municipalities (Towns) –> Aglipay, Cabarroguis, Diffun, Maddela, Nagtipunan, Saguday

History of the Province

Quirino Province got its named from the 6th president of the Philippines, Carlos Quirino. Its present territory was carved out of the land from southern Isabela and Southeastern Nueva Vizcaya. On June 18, 1966, the sub-province of Quirino was created through Republic Act 4734. At that time, it covered only four towns namely Diffun, Saguday, Aglipay, and Maddela, all from Nueva Vizcaya. Three years later, the municipality of Cabarroguis was created. On September 10, 1971, a new law (Republic Act 6394) was passed to constitute Quirino as a regular province.

As a sub-province, Jose B. Aquino sat as lieutenant governor. The first elected provincial governor was Dionisio A. Sarandi who took office on February 10, 1972. On February 25, 1983, Batas Pambansa Blg. 345 was enacted to create the town of Nagtipunan in the southern part of the province.

Go here to see all the famous people from Quirino Province.

Go here to see the candidates and results of the 2019 election in Quirino Province.

Read the history of Quirino Province in Tagalog here.

Economy of Quirino

Quirino Province is largely agricultural. It’s major products are rice, corn, banana, sweet potato, white beans, and mung beans. Light manufacturing such as the production of furniture and hollow block making are mostly family-owned enterprises. The provincial government is promoting the processing of dried flower as an additional source of income.

Tourism in the province is still in its infancy. The development of tourist spots and building more infrastructure to provide access to them is one of the priorities of the government. With the opening and improvement of the highway going to Aurora Province will encourage more people to travel and do business in Quirino. The town of Diffun is the commercial center of the province.

RELATED: La Union Province History
See also: Other Provinces of the Philippines

Map of Quirino

Any comment?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.