Timeline of Philippine History in Chronological Order

Timeline or Chronology of Historical Events that shaped the Philippines to what it is today

500,000 BC Earliest known humans live in the Cagayan caves.
55,000 BC Early Homo sapiens emerge in the Philippines
40,000 BC Migrants from Asian mainland cross land bridges and settle in the archipelago
1400 14th Century – Muslim clergymen bring Islam to the Philippines from Indonesia and Malaya
1521 Mar 16 Ferdinand Magellan lands in Homonhon Island
1521 Mar 31 Celebration of first Mass at Limasawa Island or Masao
1521 Apr 7 Magellan lands in Cebu; makes a blood compact with Rajah Humabon.
1521 Apr 27 Magellan is killed by Lapu-Lapu in the Battle of Mactan
1567 Jun 4 Miguel Lopez de Legaspi and Rajah Tupas of Cebu make a treaty for the later to recognize Spain’s sovereignty over Cebu.
1571 Jan 1 Miguel Lopez De Legaspi establishes first Spanish settlement in Cebu
1571 Jun 24 Formal establishment of the city of Manila by Conquistador Legaspi.
1574 Nov 6 Uprising against the Spaniards led by Rajah Lakandula, king of Tondo.
1583 May 5 Establishment of the Royal Audiencia, the highest judicial body during the Spanish regime.
1595 Aug 15 Elevation of Manila into an archbishopric and dividing the Philippines into four dioceses namely: Manila, Cebu, Nueva Caceres, and Nueva Segovia.
1609 May 26 Spaniards introduce forced labor among Filipino Men
1611 Apr 25 Establishment of the University of Santo Tomas (UST), the first University in Asia
1815 Sep 14 End of the Galleon Trade between the Philippines and Mexico
1820 Oct 22 Spanish Cortes passes a bill granting press freedom in the country.
1834 Sep 6 Opening of the entire Philippines to world trade
1849 Nov 11 Adoption of Christian and Spanish surnames is decreed by Governor General Narciso Claveria.
1889 Feb 15 Establishment of the La Solidaridad as the organ of the Propaganda Movement.
1889 Jul 31 By a Royal Decree, the Spanish Civil Code is made applicable in the Philippines
1892 Jul 7 The KKK or Katipunan Movement is organized in Tondo, Manila.
1896 Aug 30 Battle of Pinaglabanan. Governor General Blanco declares war in 8 provinces: Manila, Laguna, Cavite, Batangas, Bulacan, Pampanga, Tarlac, and Nueva Ecija.
1896 Dec 30 Execution of Dr. Jose Rizal in Luneta
1897 Mar 22 Establishment of a revolutionary government at the Tejeros Convention to replace the Katipunan. Emilio Aguinaldo is elected president with Andres Bonifacio as Secretary of Interior.
1897 May 10 Andres Bonifacio and his brother are executed in Mt. Buntis, Cavite. They were previously charged of treason.
1897 Dec 11 The Pact of Biak-Na-Bato was signed, temporarily halting the hostilities between the Filipino Revolutionaries and Spanish Forces
1898 Jun 12 Philippine Independence is proclaimed by General Emilio Aguinaldo at Kawit, Cavite.
1898 Aug 14 Americans establishes a military government with General Wesley Merritt as the first American military governor of the Philippines.
1898 Nov 29 The revolutionary congress approves the Malolos Constitution.
1898 Dec 10 The Treaty of Paris is signed whereby Spain ceded the Philippines to the United States for US$20 Million
1899 Feb 5 President Emilio Aguinaldo declares war against the United States
1899 Feb 6 United States Congress ratifies the Treaty of Paris
1899 Jun 5 Assassination of General Antonio Luna by guards of Emilio Aguinaldo.
1899 Jun 30 Official end of the Philippine revolution when the last Spanish Forces finally surrendered in Baler, Aurora and President Aguinaldo gave them safe passes to return to Spain.
1899 Aug 20 Signing of Bates Agreement whereby Muslims will not be involved in Filipino-American War
1901 Mar 23 Capture of President Aguinaldo in Palanan, Isabela
1901 Nov 4 The Sedition Law is passed to prohibit any person from advocating independence
1902 Jul 1 Philippine Bill of 1902 is approved by US Congress to establish a Civil government of the Philippines
1916 Aug 19 U.S. Congress enacts the Jones Law promising independence to the Philippines
1930 Nov 7 Organization of the Communist Party of the Philippines in Tondo, Manila
1934 Jul 10 Election of delegates to the Convention to draft a Philippine Constitution
1935 Mar 23 Approval of the 1935 Philippine Costitution by US President Roosevelt
1935 Sep 17 First national election in the Philippines to elect president and vice-president
1942 Jan 2 Japanese Forces enters Manila
1942 Apr 9 Fall of Bataan to the Japanese during World War II
1944 Oct 20 General MacArthur’s landing in Leyte
1945 Aug 17 President Jose P. Laurel announces dissolution of the Japanese-sponsored Philippine Republic
1946 Jul 4 Philippine Independence is recognized by the United States
1972 Sep 21 President Ferdinand Marcos issues Presidential Decree 1081 placing the country under martial law
1983 Aug 21 Former Senator Benigno ‘Ninoy’ Aquino is assassinated
1986 Feb 7 Snap presidential election pitting Corazon Aquino against Ferdinand Marcos
1986 Feb 25 Corazon C. Aquino takes oath as president ending the 20 years of Marcos rule
1986 Mar 25 Aquino Government adopts Freedom Constitution to end her revolutionary government
1987 Feb 2 Ratification of the 1987 Philippine Constitution
2000 Nov 13 Impeachment complaint against President Joseph Estrada is forwarded to the senate for trial.
2001 Jan 20 Gloria Macapagal Arroyo takes oath as President succeeding Joseph Estrada who was forced out of power
2009 Aug 1 Former President Corazon Aquino dies
2010 Jun 30 Benigno Simeon Aquino III takes oath as the 15th president of the Philippines
2016 Jun 30 Rodrigo Duterte takes oath as the 16th president of the Philippines

RELATED: Philippine History in 365 days

Timeline of Philippine History 1
Timeline of Philippine History

Any comment?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.