Santa Cruz Zambales Tourist Spots, History, Festival

Santa Cruz is a 1st class coastal municipality of Zambales Province in Central Luzon Region, Philippines.

Municipal Hall of Santa Cruz in Zambales
Municipal Hall of Santa Cruz in Zambales (Credit: FVelasquez)

Profile of Santa Cruz Municipality (Geography)
Location –> Northern part of Zambales Province in the western portion of Central Luzon (See map below)
Neighboring Towns –> Infanta in Pangasinan (north), Aguilar in Pangasinan (east), Candelaria (south)
Area –> 438.46 km2 (169.29 sq mi)
Population –> 58,151 (2015 Census)
Revenue (2016) –> 206,239,057.94
Barangays –> 25
Terrain –> Mountainous with coastal plain
Industries –> Agriculture, Trading, Tourism
Major Products –> Rice, Mango, Vegetables, Poultry, Handicraft, Home-made Food Items
People/Language –> Ilocano, Pangasinense, Tagalog, English
Legislative District –> 2nd
Government Officials
Congressman –> Cheryl D. Montalla
Mayor –> Luisito Marty
Vice Mayor –> Kristan Rommel V. Misola

History of Santa Cruz

The town of Santa Cruz was founded in 1612 then known as Sigayan. It was renamed as Santa Cruz in the early part of the 19th Century.

Economy of Santa Cruz

Santa Cruz is an agricultural town where rice and fish are the major products. The town is considered the commercial center of the northern part of the province. An industrial zone including reclamation is in the planning stage.

Tourist Spots in Santa Cruz

Hermana Mayor Island
Hermana Menor Island
Baloc-baloc Spring
Sagrada Familia Cave
Magsaysay Park
Beaches in Sabang, Bolitoc and Malabago
St. Michael The Archangel Parish Church

Festivals in Santa Cruz

Manggasan Festival

Map of Santa Cruz Municipality in Zambales Province

See also: Profile of Mayor Luisito Marty, Governor Hermogenes Ebdane

Any comment?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.