San Antonio Zambales History, Tourist Spots, Festival

San Antonio is a 2nd class coastal municipality of Zambales Province in Central Luzon Region, Philippines.

San Antonio Municipal Hall
San Antonio Municipal Hall (Credit: San Antonio LGU)

Profile of San Antonio Municipality (Geography)
Location –> 188.4 kilometers northwest of Manila (See map below)
Neighboring Towns –> San Narciso (north), San Marcelino, Castillejos and subic (east)
* San Antonio is bounded on the west by the West Philippine Sea.
Area –> 188.12 km2 (72.63 sq mi)
Population –> 34,661 (2015 Census)
Revenue (2016) –> 131,475,753.67
Terrain –> Mountainous with narrow coastal plain
Industries –> Agriculture, Trading, Tourism
Major Products –> Rice, Vegetables, fish, Poultry, Handicraft, Home-made Food Items
People/Language –> Ilocano, Tagalog, English
Barangays –> (14) Angeles, Antipolo, Burgos (Poblacion), East Dirita, Luna (Poblacion), Pundaquit, Rizal (Poblacion also called Sentro Pueblo), San Esteban, San Gregorio (Poblacion), San Juan (Poblacion also called Sitio Mabanban), San Miguel, San Nicolas (Poblacion), Santiago (Poblacion also called Pamatawan), West Dirita

Legislative District –> 2nd
Government Officials
Congressman –> Cheryl D. Montalla
Mayor –> Preciliano Ruiz
Vice Mayor –> Lugil S. Ragadio
Councilors (Sangguniang Bayan or SB Members):
Juanito Dimaculangan
Joseph Jonathan Bactad
Arvin Rolly Antipolo
Imelda Aratea
Jovy Arlantico
Irwin Mata
Nilfredo Fabros
Elizabeth Ablog

Municipal Administrator –> Clavel C. Orallo

History of San Antonio, Zambales

Prior to the coming of the Ilocano settlers in the 1800s, the area now covered by San Antonio was a hunting ground for Aetas, the indigenous people of the country.

In 1836, Pamisaraoan was organized as a barrio of Pueblo Uguit (now Castillejos). Later, it was detached from Castillejos and became a barrio of San Narciso. On May 12, 1849, Pamisaraoan became a pueblo (town) and was renamed San Antonio.

Don Gregorio BaƱaga was the first appointed political leader of San Antonio who governed from 1836 to 1849. He was succeeded by Don Vicente Lacuesta.

In 1903, the population of San Antonio was 4,524. It increased to 8,381 in 1948 and 28,248 in 2000. In the census of 2015, San Antonio registered a total of 34,661 residents.

Economy of San Antonio, Zambales

San Antonio is an agricultural municipality where rice and vegetables are the main products. The town center is home to grocery stores and other small shops catering to local needs.

The local government in cooperation with agencies of the national government such as trade (DTI) and science and technology (DOST) is pushing for the development of products from the nutritious Moringa plant known locally as malunggay. Some residents formed the San Antonio Moringa Processors Association (SAMPA) to produce delicacies like Yema, Tarts, Polvoron, Cookies and other snack items. One of their best selling product is the Moringa Shing-a-ling.

Tourist Spots

Anawangin Cove
Camara Island
Capones Island
Casa San Miguel
Nagsasa Cove
Redondo Peninsula
Silangen Cove
Talisayin Cove
Tiklados Applied Music Center (Tiklados)


Marunggay Festival and Town Fiesta

Map of San Antonio Municipality in Zambales Province

See also: Profile of Mayor Preciliano Ruiz, Governor Hermogenes Ebdane

Any comment?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.