Tayug History, Tourist Spots, Festival

Tayug is a third class municipality of Pangasinan Province in the Ilocos Region or Region 1, Philippines.

Tayug Municipal Hall
Tayug Municipal Hall (Photo Credit: Youtube)

Profile of Tayug Municipality (Geography)
Location –> Eastern part of Pangasinan; around 191.5 north of Manila and 71.9 kilometers east of the capital town of Lingayen (See map below)
Neighboring Towns –> San Nicolas (North), Natividad (East), San Quintin and Santa Maria (South), and Asingan (West)
Area –> 51.24 km2 (19.78 sq mi)
Population –> 43,149 (2015 Census)
Terrain –> Lowland
Industries –> Agriculture, Trading, Tourism
Major Products –> Rice, Vegetables, Poultry, Handicraft, Home-made Food Items
People/Language –> Ilocano, Tagalog, English, Pangasinense
Barangays: 21
Revenue (2016) –> 114,844,832.61
Legislative District –> 6th

Government Officials
Congressman –> Tyrone Agabas
Mayor –> Carlos Trece R. Mapili
Vice Mayor –> Lorna P. Tacdol


Tayug was organized as a pueblo on March 17, 1817.


The municipality of Tayug is mainly agricultural. The main commercial product is rice. Most farmers plant other crops such as corn and vegetables and raise chicken and hogs.

Tayug serves as the commercial center of the eastern part of Pangasinan Province. The town center called the Poblacion is home to several wholesalers, grocery stores and a mini-mall.

Tourism is a sunshine industry especially with the opening of a sunflower garden which has become the main attraction of the town.

Tourist Spot

Tayug Sunflower Eco-Park

Tayug Sunflower Eco Park
Tayug Sunflower Eco Park

St. Patrick Catholic Church


Feast of St. Patrick held every second week of March

Map of Tayug Municipality

See also: Profile of Mayor Carlos Trece R. Mapili, Governor Amado Espino III

Any comment?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.